Summer 2013 Bucket List

I know yesterday I vaguely alluded to the fact that this summer I will be diverting from the norm a little and participating in some obstacle races and mud runs. I justify this risky behavior on the grounds that it is the closest thing to a vacation that I can get my hands on with my business taking up so much of my time. I actually turned down the offer on the “exciting news” I had last week – upon actually checking the place out and the inability to secure a liquor license in time for opening, it just really isn’t the right place for me to be professionally at this point. I’m bummed but not devastated, and I’m actually looking forward to having some “spare time” in the upcoming months to work on school, hang out with my fiancé, and enjoy some time outdoors.

Here’s my athletic agenda this summer – my goal was to do one race a month with various objectives. First up –

Fox Township Memorial Park Fund 5k – May 18: I want to do this race because it’s local-ish and it’s a good first race to dip my toes into after a 10 year hiatus from 5ks. Plus I like free t-shirts.

Ellicottville Dirty Bit Trail Run – June 9: I’m forgoing the duathlon portion of this race in favor of the 4 mile trail run, because I wont have a ton of time to put the miles I want to on the bike just yet. I love Ellicottville so this gives me a good excuse to head up north and play in the mud.

20130408-151415.jpg

Brookville YMCA Cares for Kids Duathlon – July 20 I’m especially excited about this one because I love biking and I can’t wait to start adding that back into my training regime. Plus my hardcore friend Carlee is joining me. This race is in beautiful Cooks Forest – the scenery there is amazing.

Tough Mudder Pittsburgh – August 25 I don’t have much to say about this one, except it’s been on my bucket list for about forever, and I get to do it with two of my bloggy buddies Jennifer and Bethany. This is probably the race that provoked this crazy summer of races, and I think it’s going to be the most fun.

Pennsylvania Hardcore Mudd Run – September 29 This is another obstacle race, a little shorter than Mudder but still full of lots of fun things to climb over, swim through, and fall from. This race is tentative as of now because a lot of people like to say they’re going to do things but don’t, and it’s definitely a team race. Perks – my birthday is only 2 days later, so this will be a great way to celebrate!

20130408-164348.jpg
Backup plan if this falls through is a 5k in my old hometown that is also a beer and wine festival. Which sounds pretty legit to me.

Dam Darkness Trail Challenge – October 12 This 7 mile night run just plain sounds fun. It’s by Curwensville lake, and it’s completely lit by glow sticks. I want my last race of the “season” to be something enjoyable but challenging. I love running at night, I love the fall, and I love the lake, so this is right up my alley.

From all of this I hope to gain not only a sense of accomplishment from training hard to reach specific goals, but also a revitalization in my competitive spirit that stays with me through the entire year. When all is said and done, I think I will be mentally and physically stronger and ready to take powerlifting season by the balls.

If anyone is doing any overlapping races with me, let me know!

What’s on your bucket list this summer? Any really cool races that you’re especially looking forward to?

4 thoughts on “Summer 2013 Bucket List

  1. Pretty ambitious list, girl!

    Bummed to hear about your opportunity not working out right, but it must not have been meant to be. That’s my belief on everything at least. 🙂

    Sounds like a crazy summer up ahead!

    • It is what it is… I think I would be stretching myself too thin for something that may not be the best option right now. I might do it next year when I have adequate time to make it something great instead of running around like a maniac just to half ass it. I guess it really wasn’t meant to be right now. But I am looking forward to all my other adventures!!!

Leave a Reply

