Monday Menu Mapping & My Coupon Fetish

Two confessions you all are going to hate me for.
#1 – I am very excited about the snowstorm in progress right now.
and
#2 – Aside from minor trips here and there, I only grocery shop about every 2 months.

In my defense – I get my meat from a local butcher or from what we hunt. I get my fresh produce from the farmers’ market and the bar (we use mescaline greens, romaine, Roma and cherry tomatoes, portobello mushrooms, red bell peppers, avocado – and if I’m craving something else, I just order it in bulk and center a special around it.) I also get eggs there because we order them 20 dozen at a time for dirt cheap, or sometimes my farmer friends hook me up. I get milk from the gas station (that statement kind of made me feel white trash, but it is what it is.) I do make a bi-weekly run for greek yogurt, but thats about it. Basically big grocery store trips happen when I run out of k-cups, and I have been out of those for about 3 weeks now so I’m long overdue.

I also have an affinity for couponing – I don’t like paying full price for anything, so these grocery trips take a lot of planning. For awhile I was under the impression that coupons only promoted unhealthy food items, but when I started I was amazed at how much I was saving on staples like nuts and frozen veggies. Plus, why would you ever pay full price for things like razors or toilet paper if you don’t have to?

In order to have this convenience, I have to menu map. Sometimes for a month in advance. Saving time and money is crucial and fun. Today’s grocery haul was just under $150, (I saved over 50 bucks with in store and manufactures coupons.) I waited until this afternoon to do my official food prep and mapping for the week.

Monday: Broiled chicken breasts, garlic green beans, quinoa salad

20130325-155551.jpg
(Those are some big breasts!!!) Enough for lunch all week, too! Side note – does anyone else broil (burn) the outside of their chicken on purpose? When it’s all crispy like that I feel like I’m eating something naughty.

Tuesday: Venison Meatloaf Muffins with mashed sweet potatoes and steamed broccoli

Wednesday: “Asparagus Benedict” – I just stack Canadian bacon, sautéed asparagus and over easy eggs… Yum!

Thursday: Grilled chicken and portobellos tossed in garlic and olive oil over wheat pasta, spinach salad

20130325-163837.jpg
Kind of depressing that’s 2 servings of pasta

Friday: Leftovers

Saturday: Mexican Stuffed Peppers (salsa, brown rice, black beans) and grilled tilapia

Sunday: Easter! We are hosting so I’m making a ham, turkey, green bean casserole, deviled eggs, and baked sweet potatoes.

What’s everybody else doing for dinner this week? Easter plans? Anybody snag any awesome coupon deals lately?

2 thoughts on “Monday Menu Mapping & My Coupon Fetish

  1. Yum yum yum! I am also a coupon clipper. The BF used to make fun of me and call me cheap until he realized how much $ I was saving us. My favorite is when I get the buy one get one deal with a coupon and then the double it. I feel like a super hero. Lol! You are a much better meal planner than me. I plan my breakfast and lunches for months in advance because they are usually the same every day but dinners only get planned a few days to a week in advance. Luckily I buy my protein in bulk and the portion and freeze it to make things easier. I usually run out if fruits, veggies and yogurts way before anything else. I’d love to have a commercial kitchen to pull from though. It would be game on! 😉

    • I know, I’m a lucky jerk.
      Unfortunately sometimes I want to pull from the naughty side of said kitchen. Ha.
      I love the BOGO with stacking – it is such an adrenaline rush 🙂 am I getting old? Haha

Leave a Reply

