Prognosis for this Week’s Menu Mapping? Slow Cooker Central!

Yesterday morning I woke up to this winter wonderland BS.

20130316-165644.jpg

20130316-165954.jpg

Sure, it’s pretty and all, but those two 60 degree days last week gave me a false sense of spring. And although I can hopefully squeeze in a little cross country ski trip this week thanks to yesterday’s dump, what I really want is to be able to wear shorts everyday without looking like a dork (or without leggings and boots… Same difference.) This week’s menu planning is a little bit crock-pot centric, as we have a busy work week coming up, so it’s nice to come home at night and have minimal work to do to get dinner on the table. I also am working on menu mapping to suit both my own and my fiancé’s tastes and needs. I’m not going to lie – I’ve compromised my diet of choice on more than one occasion in order to accommodate him. While there’s nothing wrong with not always getting your own way, I’m trying to customize our meal plans a little more so that with the omission or addition of certain elements, we can both be happy.
Here’s what’s on the agenda for this week:

Monday: Taco Chili (black beans and corn instead of kidney beans.) and jalapeño cornbread mini muffins.

Tuesday: Stir Fry Chicken & Veggies over riced cauliflower

Wednesday: Hamburger, sweet potato, and vegetable grilled “foil pouches” (a new love of mine – recipe to come in the near future!)

Thursday: quinoa veggie soup

Friday: leftovers!

Saturday: Spaghetti Squash with Venison Meat Sauce

Sunday: I don’t know yet! It’s a feast day, (and a deadlift day!) so the options are limitless.

Nothing fancy, nothing time consuming, lots of veggies and lean proteins (and of course carefully calculated carb cycling based on my training days.) I love going into the week with a fresh plan of really delicious stuff- it gives me something to look forward to and saves me time and money.

What’s on your menu this week? Trying anything new?

3 thoughts on “Prognosis for this Week’s Menu Mapping? Slow Cooker Central!

  1. I do SO much better when I meal plan.. but many times Sunday night comes around and I freak out and figure it’s going to be sweet potatoes and burgers the rest of the week.. haha.. easy and very little prep

    I’ve been over-buying produce, too.. high hopes to make such great things but then I get lazy and stick to the basics.

    either way, spaghetti squash is a weekly must-have. Enjoy!

    • I hear ya on the overbuying produce. Take it easy the next few weeks – insider tip – prices will be up and quality will be down. It’s a weird time for harvest… I know the romaine I use at the bar doubled in price as of Sunday and it’s not pretty!! I’m sticking to frozen veg at the house for a little!

Leave a Reply

