Peer Pressure

For a very long time, I’ve been kind of a lone wolf in my fitness adventure. My love lies in power lifting, and that became my escape. It gave me an excuse to ditch my “workout buddies” because their training philosophies didn’t mesh with mine. It gave me the right to construct a home gym tailored to only my needs and wants, which allowed me to train on my own time. The truth is, between my highly social job and the mental and physical demands it places on me, I wouldn’t want to have to share my training time with others. It is mine to revel in – be it to blaring heavy metal and smashing plates off the concrete, or in complete silence hanging upside down from my pull-up bar until blood starts gushing out my ears. note – the latter part of that statement may be a little embellished with imaginative flair.
Either way – I love what I do and how I do it, and I probably won’t entertain thoughts of changing that specific aspect of my training anytime soon.
It’s no joke – I have turned down opportunities to go mountain biking for fear I would mess myself up for deadlift day. I’ve forgone kayak trips with friends because I was so sore I couldn’t lift my arms. Hell, I even declined a walk in the park once or twice because I had more serious matters to attend to. Although one could think that that was just straight up determination and dedication to my sport, it was more than that to me … It was really just my own personal “get out of jail free card” when it came to having to be in social situations.

20130228-183743.jpg

The thing is, there are a lot more “people like me” out there than I would have imagined. Perfectly content chugging away at our own things at our own pace and not really trying to have a BFF or needing to constantly text one another to check in and solidify our friendships. And for some reason, when people like us get together, it is so awesome that we make ridiculous plans to do outlandish things.

Such opportunities that have been presented to me include joining a roller derby team, running two obstacle races this summer including Dirty Girl and Tough Mudder, and participating in a local triathlon. Also in the making is a really crazy cross country ski adventure, an all girls archery camp weekend that involves actually camping out, and potentially instructing an outdoor boot-camp style class when the weather breaks.

Do you think I’m going to let all these flighty, lofty adventures interfere with my lifting goals?
Hell no.

Do you think that I am going to sit on the sidelines and let these things pass me by while I toil away solo for another year? absolutely not.

The thing is, I’m ready to have fun with my accomplishments, I’m ready to do something to celebrate my hard work, and having the people in my life that want to share these experiences with me, as well as access to said experiences themselves make me so excited to dig right in and start the next chapter of my personal life.

It’s going to require some tweaks in my training, but nothing that will set me back from my power lifting. It also is going to require a modicum of social interaction, but not the kind that requires me to lend you my clothes or interact with your children (no offense, I’m sure they’re delightful.)

Call me a dreamer, or less than “dedicated,” but I’m going into all of this with the attitude of having fun in an athletic setting more so than being the very best, because what it all boils down to for me is that deep down I’m a lifter for life. Still, until I can get to where I need to be before my first power lifting meet, I want to enjoy the things life has thrown my way.

Over the next few months I’m excited to share my training with you all, as well as these fun activities coming into fruition. Am I nervous? Well, duh. But when you only set goals that you feel comfortable with, then really, are they goals or just things on your todo list?

It’s time to set my sights a little higher, raise my bar, and get out there and accomplish something.

6 thoughts on “Peer Pressure

  1. It’s kinda funny how with this new blog outlook, it’s like you’re a whole new Martha emerging! You’ve grown so much since “mychickenbutt” 😉 Maybe it’s time to change the name? You’re a much more mature, strong, focused chick! 🙂

    I hope I make it to that phase soon; finding some good solid fitness friendship.. OUTSIDE of the blogosphere..

    • Oh I will always be a chicken butt 🙂
      Change is good sometimes, growing up is cool, but at the root of it, I’m still me good and bad.
      Hopefully you will find some fun folks to share your love with soon!! It’s nice having a support network. I think the more open I’ve been with people about my ISSA studies and my actual training, the more opportunities it has opened up for me. Everybody wants the rogue bad ass to play on their team. Haha

  2. I agree with Jennifer–you are a much more mature, strong and focused chick–that’s for sure! I’m excited for you that you are going to get out there! Interesting you mentioned roller derby. There is a girl that just started working at my place of work and she does this. Brad and I are going to go watch one of their meets next weekend (can’t wait) and they have this training things where you learn stuff so you can go try out. I’m not sure I will do it because of the time commitment, but I have been thinking of it. I think that would be so much fun and a totally awesome workout!
    So, enjoy your new adventures!!

    • That’s so ironic! Like parallel lives 🙂
      I also am putting that on hold until this summer because practice interferes with my work schedule right now and I don’t have any options to change that until May. But it’s definitely something I want to try — seems like a good outlet for my anger issues 🙂

  3. Yay for Roller Derby!
    And Archery! I have started derby and am starting archery this week.
    Completely understand what you mean. The only person I really like going to the gym with is one of my sisters or my pt because they both motivate me really well and are content to justshut up if it is needed.
    More often than not I will train in the “testosterone zone” of the gym, purely so I don’t have to deal with girls.

    Glad you’re back.
    I have missed watching your progress… In a non-creepy way :S

    • Yay for derby is right! And I don’t think you’re being creepy!!!
      You will love archery – it is empowering and relaxing at the same time. I might go as far as saying I love it more than shooting my .44 but, it really depends on what day of the week it is 🙂
      Keep being a badass! I’m routing for ya!

Leave a Reply

