Week 6 – lookin good, feelin good

It’s already week 6 of my experience with the madcow, and things are feeling good. I’m surpassing my 1 rep maxes and turning them into 5 rep maxes on a weekly basis now, and that my friends is pretty incredible.
I didn’t think I needed to post progress pics this week, but I cleaned out a drawer today, and found some old fat pics. Don’t mind the blur, I took pictures of these pictures.
These are from December 2008, when I was at my heaviest – at least 211 pounds:

20120906-201846.jpg

20120906-201904.jpg
It gave me an overwhelming urge to take a picture today and just savor how far I’ve come.

20120906-202021.jpg messy bathroom much?

20120906-202111.jpg
That girl in the first two pictures – I feel so sad for her. That man in both of the pictures, though – I am so lucky to have him, because he loved me as much then as he does now, and has been there for me no matter what shape I was in. Ok – enough sap.
Stats:
height: 5’7
weight: 133
What I liked about this week: This week I really started feeling stronger. I am finally moving around weights that are heavier than I could in the past, and it feels fantastic, and not overwhelmingly heavy. I kept things really simple with assistance work this week because I used one of my rest days as an opportunity to do a circuit of lunges, split squats, ab stuff, etc – it felt good to get sweaty on an off day. I also ran quite a bit this week (nowhere near the ten miles that I was “supposed” to, but we are taking strides to fix that in a creative way) – and when I ran, I alternated between all out sprints and walking. It actually really helped with my DOMS so I think I will keep a sprint day between workout 2 and 3 every week.
I ate lots of fresh produce and got my protein in every day this week. I’m upped to about 155 grams right now, and it’s making me feel really energetic.

What I disliked about this week: I made a pact with myself that whatever alcohol I consumed Labor Day weekend, I would make up for in miles run. I don’t really drink anymore, maybe a whiskey and diet soda once a week – but apparently I was in the mood to celebrate because between Sunday and Monday I drank 10 alcoholic beverages.
Let me tell you how thankful I am for my typically sober life after that. First of all, I did manage to eat ok both of those days, but I feel like I cheated myself regardless because I filled my body up with toxic poisons.
So I ran. Over 3 miles as of Wednesday. The one day it felt amazing because I felt toxins pouring out of me. The other day was meh, but I felt obligated.
Also, on Wednesday, I ate like a psychopath. We went to Pittsburgh for a baseball game and I think I ate the entire city. Tasted pretty good, too, but on Thursday I had a horrible bread hangover. Brain cloud, sore throat, even a little dizziness. It sucked!
What to expect next week: Well now that I am done with my goals of being an alcoholic/long distance runner, I can focus on the good stuff.
I’m going to start dabbling in carb back loading, which is basically what I do anyway, but I’m going to research it and actually follow a plan.
Although I’m going to keep a sprinting day in the week until the weather starts to suck, I’m going to get my cardio in the form of CrossFit WODs and other things that don’t promote catabolism (thanks Tammy for being a fun sucker. J/k running is not fun)
Aside from my nutrition mishaps in this week, I feel amazing, I feel like I’ve made progress, and I hope that high sticks with me throughout this upcoming one, because this is genuinely what it’s all about – feeling your best, and looking your best while you’re at it.

Question of the Day: Being that my birthday is coming up, I thought I’d put this out there in case there are any really rich people who read my blog and feel like doing a good deed. Just kidding… Kind of.
What do you want for your birthday this year? There are a few things. I want a new squat rack because mine is scary/janky. It does the trick, but it’s not going to when I get my squat up over 200#. Also, a new bench would be nice because I got mine off of Craigslist and it is basically a glorified case of hepatitis waiting to happen. These things do the trick, and I’ve accumulated them, 3 bars, and over 300# of weights for under 200 bucks in the past year, but I’m ready for some shiny new toys!
Also, I want (and think I’m actually getting) a crossbow. Archery has always been an interest if mine, and now that I have the outdoor room to practice it, I feel like I can actually start doing it again. I told my fiancΓ© if he gets me one, we will get him one too so that we can have a hobby to enjoy together.
Not to get greedy, but I would also gladly accept a spa day.
Or even a day where I can just lay around the house in my pajamas and drink tea and watch trash tv. If its rainy, even better.
I will stop now.
Unless someone is feeling generous and wants to leave a truckload of money in front of my house. Or a winning lottery ticket.

How about you guys? Have you been good this week and made big gains? Do you want thousands of dollars worth of stuff for your birthday? Or are you more sentimental?

Have a fun weekend, and join me tomorrow for picture day!

17 thoughts on “Week 6 – lookin good, feelin good

  1. Your post says you used to be 2011 pounds… πŸ˜‰ Yikes! hehe.
    That’s so exciting to be making progress with reps on what was formerly your 1RMs! That’s about where I’m at now and it is such an awesome feeling. Total lifter’s high.
    I’d be interested to hear how the carb backloading goes. I’ve read into it a bit, but still get confused on if it really means you can eat loads of pasta or not lol. I like Julia Ladewski (http://julialadewski.com/2012/04/carb-back-loading-explained-faq-and-is/) and she follows it and looks awesome.

    Here’s a question to add to your list: From your “heaviest” weight until now, do you feel like a different person? You seemed like a happy, bubbly person in your pictures that you post, and now you seem like a much more sassy, confident chick. Did your personality change at all?

    • Oops! I will have to fix that! 2011 would probably be a world record!
      I think that article you posted about carb back loading was one of the first ones I read a few months ago and it really got my attention. Even though I never strictly followed it, it’s basically the format of how I eat. So at least I have a base and can start tweaking!
      Thanks for the question! I will put it on my list πŸ™‚

      • Personally, I like the Monday-Friday eat good, then Friday night – Sunday, do whatever.. πŸ˜‰ Is it the most efficient? Probably not, but I like it anyway. It will be interesting to see what my body want s to do after this nonsense I’m doing πŸ™‚

      • I wouldn’t call the whole 30 nonsense – although I’m sure it feels like that right now!! It’s a practice in dedication and commitment to your health and I commend you for it!
        I don’t see how your weekend plan is bad – you are of normal weight, and you dedicate most of your time to being healthy, so I think you earn your off days!
        Carb back loading for me isn’t an excuse to go crazy on the pasta, but instead allows a little wiggle room so that Aaron and I can have “normal” dinners – I don’t have to always make special stuff for myself. Plus some nights when I finish working out its after midnight – a peanut butter and jelly sandwich or a bowl of cereal with my protein shake is a lot easier than preparing a steak, and sometimes hard boiled eggs after an hour of sweating makes me want to vom πŸ™‚

      • Haha.. good points! Someone was talking today about eating PB&J for breakfast (while I was making my spinach and eggs, side of avocado), and it sounded SOO good.. I just need to experiment more. I really do like Whole30, even though I secretly bash it, because it is so structured and restrictive which makes it easy to follow in a way. But I don’t think I could sustain it long term. Fortunately (or unfortunately), there is never bread in the house to tempt me, but I’ll still look into new things once this is done. We shall see.

      • You will figure everything out quickly! Just take your major compound lifts – squat, deadlift, bench, press – and try to work up to the heaviest possible one you can squeeze out with reasonable form. That would be your one rep max. Once you find that out you can start working on a program where you can get the best possible work out and increase your strength! It’s all very fun and mathematical

  2. Martha, great post! I’m so proud of how far you’ve come (even if I didn’t know you back then). I’m even just thinking since I’ve known you. I think Jennifer’s question is an excellent one because I have thought the same thing–bubbly to sassy. I prefer sassy by the way. Well, at least for you.
    Anyhow, I had to look up what a squatt rack is. Is this something like what you would like?: http://www.amazon.com/Powerline-PSS60X-PowerLine-Squat-Rack/dp/B000VLKOB8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1347037251&sr=8-1&keywords=squat+rack

    • I prefer sassy for me too πŸ™‚
      Thanks for the encouragement.
      That picture is basically what I have going on right now, except mines old.
      I actually want something bigger – taller – I’m thinking a Rogue Power Rack is what I’m saving up for. They have one called the yolk I think? It can double as a sled for sled pushes. Muy expensivo! But definitely worth it when I find the cash!

  3. You’re welcome. I make a living sucking the fun out of people’s lives, so your shout out to me just made me happy. Even when you aren’t in your right mind, I’ll try and protect the muscle. Just yesterday, another female bodybuilder announced on YouTube that she is going to “downsize” to physique (my division). She hired an expensive trainer nationally famous these days for shrinking muscle – with cardio.

    Don’t be afraid to bump up your protein grams considering your training. Frame of reference…I’m about your weight and eat around 250-275 grams a day.

    I can’t do the food like you guys do. Not just because of the bodybuilding, but because I feel so much better clean. I learned my lesson last week during my “rest and eat anything I want” week. I felt like shit on “regular” food. Breads, crusts, grains all bloated me. Sugar made me tired. And since that was a recovery week, I thought it would be good. I’ve done carb loading for months. What I learned was that BECAUSE it was a recovery week, I needed to keep the food clean, just eat more of it. That’s the only way I’m going to stay lean while gaining muscle, me thinks. A cheat meal a couple times a month will be OK, but that’s it. But I consider “tomatoes” a cheat food. I’m never going to be ‘normal’ again.

    • It’s weird imagining how people could work so hard to build big muscles just to turn around and work hard to destroy them… But I guess that’s the essence to body building – your body is your canvas and you can do as you please to make it look how you want.
      I don’t know what “class” I would strive for if I took the jump. I’m sure certain body types are more akin to certain divisions, but with the right training and diet anything is possible.
      I admire your dedication to your diet. I am not saying this in a mean way – but it’s a sign of maturity on your behalf, and also a sign of a healthy relationship with food. I don’t plan on going nutty on junk crap food, because it makes me feel crappy – I’ve just found that with prior ED issues, if I put foods into clean and dirty categories, I start fixating, binging, purging, starving – whatever. I know there’s going to come a point where it’s like – get over it! Get over yourself and do the right thing! But I haven’t gotten there yet, so I try to embrace as healthy eating patterns as I can.
      I think lifting has really helped me mentally even moreso than physically because you find out real fast that you can’t starve yourself and train as hard as you want to. Results = food. Quality food preferably, I love my protein and veggies. I guess I’m just searching for a balance that I’ve yet to be able to wrap my brain around, and the more I think about back loading, it’s a natural fit for me. Don’t worry – I’m not talking white flour concoctions and loaves of bread on the daily! That stuff makes me feel poopy if I overdo it! I am working on a post about the ins and outs and pros and cons of it now, in hopes to further educate myself.

      • Carb loading is so important. Tons of people are getting the wrong message to cut carbs too much, because – my theory – they hear that competitors and fitness models (for photo shoots) manipulate carbs to get that lean look. It’s a temporary and dangerous process. Can totally screw up a metabolism forever if done too long. And then there is a poopy issue. I should blog about the conversations Coach and I had about bowel movements during Peak Week. Um…no. I won’t.

  4. you look great girl! congrats on the PRs and on finding a good catch πŸ˜‰
    don’t beat yourself up too much on the drinking end; it happens and you know how to get back on track, and that’s all that’s important.

Leave a Reply

