Marinated meat bags

I guess this title is probably not so fitting after my seemingly anti-tittie tirade yesterday, but I couldn’t resist.
As I’ve stated in the past, I feel my body functions optimally on a high protein, lower carb lifestyle. As a weight lifter, I strive to fit in at least 140 grams of protein a day, and I let the other macronutrients in my diet fall in place after that.
Yes, I drink whey protein. I like having a go to when I don’t feel like cooking or eating (I’m never hungry right after I workout, but I know I need a lil sumthin’) – but trying to fit in enough whole protein sources sometimes gets a little challenging for me. I usually start my day off with eggs of some sort, but it’s easy to get a little off kilter from there if ill prepared.
Enter, how I prep my meats for the week.

20120417-223344.jpg
Maybe that’s not really pretty, but it’s pretty practical in my opinion.
I take raw poultry, beef, whatev – cut it into bite sized chunks, flop it in a bag with a variety of healthy-ish marinades, and a meal or snack is never more than 5 minutes a frying pan and a side salad or steamed veggie away.
Today I prepped about 6 pounds of chicken breast – I split them into three bags and did the following marinades:
Asian honey: light soy sauce, a little sesame oil, lots of garlic, a little bit of raw honey (this gets a nice blackened texture to it when you cook it, and tastes great in a lettuce wrap stuffed with shredded carrots and cabbage, and a little bit of brown rice if you need a little carbs in ya)
sweet and spicy olive oil, lots of cumin, a little pinch of allspice, and some pineapple juice (this stands well on its own, but if you’re looking for a full meal I suggest having it with couscous, or a pepper and pineapple stir fry)
Tuscan lemon pepper my food rep gave me a sample pack of this “Tuscan herb” blend, and I don’t know what’s actually in it, but I’m assuming crack cocaine most likely because I love it so very much. I put that, juice of a whole lemon, a little olive oil, and some cracked black pepper (awesome over sautéed zucchini, carrots, and roasted red peppers, or tossed with some wheat pasta, broccoli, olive oil, and Parmesan cheese).
Also, plain old Italian dressing marinade is a great quick go to. Obviously you want to watch how much sugar and other crap you’re adding to your protein source as flavorings, but olive oil is great for you, as with herbs. Honey, soy sauce, and fruit juices all have pretty strong flavors in my opinion, so you don’t need a ton, just enough to add a little zip.
I have heard from people that marinating chicken too long makes it hard and dried out, but I’m gonna call bullshit on that, because if me and the fiancé don’t consume all this within 5 days, I portion it out into single servings and freeze it, marinade and all, and I’ve never had a problem. Maybe I’m just lucky? Or hungry…
Yesterday was my first workout in 2 weeks and it went spectacularly. I reset my lifts two weeks back, and although the weights felt heavy (duh) – I felt pretty confident I could have probably only reset 1 week back. It felt so fucking good to do something that I really love, uninterrupted, and clear my mind. I am pretty sore today, but I’m blaming that not only on the squats, but the 5 hours I spent yesterday prying staples out of the floor in preparation to lay our pergo down tomorrow :). So pumped – goodbye shitty purple carpet- I hate you so very much.
I can’t wait to get that done, get my curtains hung, do a giant clean, and them start moving in. I also can’t wait to show you guys my mad home makeover skills!
Here’s an off topic question (kind of) – the previous owners of the house not only screwed their mirrors to the walls, but also glued them down? I managed to pry the old frames off, but I don’t want to try and pry the old mirrors off. They are in good shape, too. What can I do about constructing a frame around them? Any creative suggestions?

20120417-225449.jpg
Ps I’m about to eat this. And it looks bomb.

Leave a Reply

